The Would-Be World Cup Winners

The Would-Be World Cup Winners
Popperfoto / Getty Images

1954, Hungary
Sixteen years later, the Hungarians returned to the finals, only to lose 3-2 to West Germany. The West Germans would go on to win two more World Cups, while 1954 would be the last time the Hungarians would make it to the finals.

Get the Latest Photos from
Get TIME photos and pictures of the week delivered directly to your inbox.