Cinema: Oscars

  • Share
  • Read Later

In the cinema industry the small gold- washed statuets which the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences annually awards for meritorious productions and performances are called "Oscars.'' Usually Oscars are awarded in November. Last autumn, defection of half the Academy's membership in the dissension over paycuts caused a shortage of cash, made it appear that there might be no Oscars at all. Last month. 30 members of the Academy put up $50 each for statuets and the Academy's annual banquet. The winners:

Best performances: Katharine Hepburn (Morning Glory)-, runner-up: May Robson (Lady for a Day).

Charles Laughton (Henry VIII); runner-up: Paul Muni (/ Am a Fugitive From a Chain Gang).

Best picture: Cavalcade.

Best direction: Frank Lloyd (Cavalcade).

Best original story: Robert Lord (One Way Passage).