East Africa: Three's a Crowd

Not so long ago, the three former British East African nations of Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda were talking ambitiously of joining together in political federation. There was easy agreement to maintain the joint rail, air and postal services handed down by the British, and all three nations continued using the East African shilling as the common currency. A common market was developed, with a Central Legislative Assembly to govern it. Last year the three good neighbors even agreed to divvy up future industrial development equally among them.

Short Cut. Suddenly, however, the...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!