Wednesday, Dec. 16, 2009

The Apollo 8 Astronauts

The Apollo 8 astronauts — Jim Lovell, William Anders and Frank Borman — were the first men to orbit the moon

Jim Lovell: "[Person of the Year] always reminded me of a very significant milestone. We were able to complete a very turbulent year by doing something that was respected and honored, not just in the U.S. but by the whole world."

William Anders: "The main objective — contrary to what a lot of people think — was to beat the Russians to the moon. [Being named Person of the Year] was really a wake-up call that Apollo 8 was bigger than just beating the commies."