The Would-Be World Cup Winners

The Would-Be World Cup Winners
Bob Thomas / Popperfoto / Getty Images

1934, Czechoslovakia
Although more than 70 nations have qualified for the World Cup since the tournament's inception in 1930, the World Cup finals have been an affair primarily dominated by four nations: Brazil, Italy, Germany and Argentina. In the 1934 World Cup finals, the Italians beat the former Czechoslovakia 2-1.

Get the Latest Photos from
Get TIME photos and pictures of the week delivered directly to your inbox.