Presidential Debate Schedule Set

  • Share
  • Read Later
WASHINGTON, D.C.: St. Louis, San Diego and St. Petersburg, Florida, are the sites chosen by an independent panel for the three scheduled presidential debates this fall. Though the Commission on Presidential Debates cannot force candidates to appear, it is a nonpartisan body co-chaired by ex-Democratic National Committee chair Paul Kirk and ex-Republican National Committee chair Frank Fahrenkopf and commands considerable respect from both national parties. The first debate would be in St. Louis on September 25; the second, in St. Petersburg, on October 9; the third, in San Diego, on October 16. Presidential debates, all televised, are considered the most important forums in the campaign.