• Share
  • Read Later
William Gaddis has won the prestigious 1994 National Book Award for fiction for a satirical look at litigious America, "A Frolic of His Own" -- the second time Gaddis claimed the prize. (He won in 1976 for his second novel, "JR.") Other winners, announced last night, are: surgeon Sherwin B. Nuland's "How We Die: Reflections on Life's Final Chapter," a meditation on death, in the nonfiction category; James Tate, a University of Massachusetts professor, won the poetry prize for, "Worshipful Company of Fletchers"; and poet Gwendolyn Brooks received the National Book Foundation Medal, a lifetime achievement award.Post your opinion on theSocietybulletin board.