What's Left of Yugoslavia?

SERBIA AND MONTENEGRO, that's what. The 12-member European Community and the U.S. have recognized the independence of the former Yugoslav republic of Bosnia-Herzegovina. The E.C. recognized Slovenia and Croatia last January, and Washington has now followed suit. And while Macedonia has declared its independence, the E.C. has not yet recognized it out of deference to Greece, which also contains a region it calls Macedonia and fears that an independent state could lay claim to some parts of Greek territory. The White House said the U.S. would coordinate its plans with the E.C. to recognize Macedonia, possibly as early as next month.


Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!