Books: Off the Wall Dating Your Mom by Ian Frazier

by Ian Frazier Farrar, Straus & Giroux 123 pages; $11.95

Some people believe that humorous fiction in The New Yorker has long been legally dead of inanition. Fans of Garrison Keillor and Veronica Geng, two of the magazine's steadiest contributors of whimsy, will disagree. But the most hilarious refutations of this charge have come from Author Ian Frazier, 35, an alumnus of the Harvard Lampoon and a New Yorker staff writer whose stories began bouncing off the wall and into the magazine some ten years ago. These appearances have, to be sure, been infrequent and highly irregular. Dating Your Mom collects a decade's worth of funny business: 25 short pieces, all...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now

Subscribe
Subscribe

Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on TIME.com

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!