Prizes: The Show Must Go On

The Show Must Go On

When the Nobel Committee awarded its 1985 peace prize to the International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, the choice hardly seemed controversial. In a gesture of East-West amity, Soviet Cochairman Dr. Yevgeni Chazov and his U.S. counterpart, Dr. Bernard Lown, were named as recipients. A delighted Soviet government decided to allow its ambassador in Oslo to attend the Dec. 10 ceremonies. Moscow had boycotted Nobel proceedings since 1975, when Soviet Dissident Andrei Sakharov was awarded the coveted prize.

But last week West German Chancellor Helmut Kohl and ten other Christian Democratic leaders protested the award for Chazov. Reason: in...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!