Massachusetts: Can I See Your Registration?

Can I See Your Registration?

A Chevrolet Celebrity, deadheading back to Boston from Logan Airport, is pulled over by a Boston policeman. The offense: an expired inspection sticker; the fine: $50. But not for a car bearing license plate STATE 1 that moments earlier had Massachusetts' favorite son riding in the rear passenger seat. A warning will do.

No big deal, until the Boston Herald ran a picture of the Chevy with its spanking-new inspection sticker in the window and the Governor and his driver standing nearby. Headline: DUKE FAILS TO STICK TO INSPECT LAW. Before long, the crack drive-time team at one of Cape Cod's...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now

Subscribe
Subscribe

Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on TIME.com

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!