Prizes: Two Disarming Choices

Antinuclear advocates win Nobel honors for peace

In the 81 years since its creation, the prestigious and often controversial Nobel Peace Prize has been bestowed on personalities as famous and colorful as Teddy Roosevelt, Henry Kissinger, Anwar Sadat and Menachem Begin. The award has also been given to faceless organizations. In 1981, the five-person Norwegian Nobel Committee passed over Polish Trade Union Leader Lech Walesa to bestow its gold medallion and $180,000 in cash on the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees.

Last week the Nobel panel opted for a...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!