Medicine: Pioneers of the Supergene

A trio of top immunologists wins the Nobel

The rumor in Stockholm a year ago was that the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine would go to a trio of scientists for basic research in how the body defends itself against external agents and maintains its internal wellbeing. The prediction proved wrong—but only by twelve months. Last week Sweden's Karolinska Institute announced that the 1980 award, worth $212,000, will be shared by three pioneering immunologists: Jean Dausset of France and two Americans, George Snell and Baruj Benacerraf.

The three, working independently, have been studying a...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!