Books: Fragments of a Fabulous World

COLLECTED STORIES by Gabriel Garcia Márquez Translated by Gregory Rabassa and S.J. Bernstein Harper & Row; 311 pages; $16.95

There are no new stories in this collection or, for that matter, any that might be called semi-new. The most recent of the pieces dates from 1972. Nonetheless, many of these 26 works by Gabriel Garcia Márquez, winner of the 1982 Nobel Prize for Literature, will seem shiny and fresh to everyone but dedicated students of South American literature. The bulk of Garcia Márquez's short fiction was written before his novel One Hundred Years of...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!