Drug License

Don't catch 'em, tax 'em!

Don't misunderstand: in Arizona, as in every other state, it is still illegal to peddle drugs. But citizens who intend to sell illicit drugs in Arizona anyway are now obliged to get a $100 state license from the department of revenue. Still more curious, the law that went into effect last month requires that an official, yellow $10 tax stamp be stuck to every 1-oz. bag of marijuana sold, and a $125 blue stamp to each 1-oz. parcel of cocaine (or any other illegal drug). What is more, the...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now

Subscribe
Subscribe

Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on TIME.com

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!