The States: The Law & LSD

THE STATES

Within hours of each other last week, the Governors of California and Nevada signed bills imposing fines of as much as $1,000 and sentences of up to one year behind bars for possession of the hallucinogenic drug LSD. This week a similar measure is expected to become law in New Jersey. In the weird light of LSD's often nightmarish effects, it might seem that such a crackdown would be widely applauded. On the contrary, U.S. legislators and drug experts are actually engaged in a strenuous debate over the degree and kind of controls that should be imposed on LSD.

Dr....

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now

Subscribe
Subscribe

Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on TIME.com

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!