Sport: Continental Divide

From its founding last year, the pop-up Continental League had little chance of becoming a third major baseball circuit in 1961. The owners had franchises in eight cities,* but no players and no stadiums. By its paper existence, however, the Continental League bedeviled the 16 major-league teams.

Last week representatives of all three leagues met in Chicago to shake hands on a deal that left everyone smiling, the Continental Leaguers contentedly, the established major leaguers with relief. Terms of the deal: the Continental League disappears; the American and National leagues will each grow to ten teams by 1962, taking in two...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!