Science: Nobelmen of 1958

Even as all Moscow reverberated with the volleys of invective loosed upon Boris Pasternak (see FOREIGN NEWS), the Nobel Prize committee announced that the prize in physics had been awarded to Russian Physicists Pavel A. Cherenkov, Igor I. Tamm and Ilya M. Frank. Without a trace of embarrassment over its inconsistency, Soviet officialdom beamed, and nobody charged (as they had with Pasternak) that it would amount to accepting a "handout" from "the enemy." All three Russians rank high in the esteem of,the outside world as well as in the Soviet scientific hierarchy. Dr....

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!