THE PRESIDENCY: New Stars, Old Stripes

Now therefore, I, Dwight D. Eisenhower, President of the United States of America, do hereby declare and proclaim that the procedural requirements imposed by the Congress on the State of Alaska to entitle that state to admission into the Union have been complied with and that admission of Alaska into the Union on an equal footing with the other states of the Union is now accomplished.

Using six pens to be handed out as souvenirs, President Eisenhower signed the proclamation in the White House at 12:01 p.m., Jan. 3, 1959 that admitted...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!