Sport: Panel of Ten

This year the A. A. U. has a Gold Cup, known as the James E. Sullivan* Memorial Trophy, which the Association is going to present to the outstanding amateur athlete of the U. S. Last week, closing its annual convention in Washington, the A. A. U. announced a preliminary list of ten amateurs from whom the cup-receiver will be picked:

Golfer Robert Tyre Jones Jr.

Marathoner Clarence De Mar

Swimmer Helene Madison

Tennis Player Helen Wills Moody

Track & Fielder Barney Berlinger

Girl Sprinter Stella Walsh

Swimmer Ray Ruddy

Poloist Thomas Hitchcock Jr.

Shot Putter Harlow Rothert

Sprinter George Simpson

* Late founder (1888),...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!