Books: Nobel Prize

Awarding a Nobel Prize, especially in literature, is a ticklish business. Only international prize of its kind, its bestowal on any world-citizen is regarded as a triumph for that citizen's country. Whether or not the Committee deals out its favors impartially, it obviously tries to rotate them. Last year the Nobel Prize in Literature went to England (the late John Galsworthy), the year before to Sweden (Erik Axel Karlfeldt), year before that to the U. S. (Sinclair Lewis). This year for the first time it went to a man without a country.

Ivan Alexeyevich Bunin, 1933 Nobel Prize winner in Literature, is...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!