Art: New Commissioner

President Coolidge appointed William Adams Delano of New York to fill the vacancy on the National Commission of Fine Arts caused by the death of Henry Bacon (TIME, Feb. 25).

The other members of the Commission are Charles Moore, Chairman; Milton B. Nedary, Jr., James L. Greenleaf, James E. Fraser, Louis Ayres, H. Siddons Mowbray. The Commission was established in 1910 to take charge of all Federal Art matters and to approve architectural and artistic projects of the Government at Washington. It is composed of three architects, one landscape architect, one painter, one sculptor,...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!