Music: Classical Records

Mozart: The "Great" Mass in C Minor, K. 427 (New Philharmonia Orchestra, Raymond Leppard, conductor; Seraphim; $3.98). Over the years, publishers have used the word great to distinguish this work from a Mass in the same key written when Mozart was still in his teens. But if ever a score deserved that adjective without qualification, it is K. 427. Composed in 1782-83, its style looks backward to the cantata-type Mass of Bach's day, but its expressiveness and symphonic drive anticipate Beethoven and the romantic era. The performance, led by Conductor-Musicologist Leppard, would...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!