Business: Supreme Court of Money

The Constitution divided the Government into three branches, but now there are really 3½—with the Federal Reserve System being the half. It has so much latitude in money and banking that it is equal in independence to the Executive, Legislative and Judicial branches. The seven Federal Reserve governors can be removed only "for cause," and none ever has been. Since they are appointed for 14-year terms, they can stay in Washington while Presidents come and go. Exempt from Civil Service rules, the board in Washington and the twelve regional Federal Reserve banks hire...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!