Environment: The Biggest Prize

The world's most munificent award for scientific achievement is the John and Alice Tyler Ecology Prize. Established in 1973 as a bequest from the co-founder of the Farmers Insurance Group, it carries a tax-free emolument of $150,000—more than the highest amount given Nobel prizewinners—and is awarded annually to the person who has done the most to improve the environment. Last year, when the first Tyler prize was given, the eight-member panel of judges somewhat diminished the impact of the award by dividing it among three men: Yale Ecologist G. Evelyn Hutchinson, Smog Expert A.J. Haagen-Smit and U.N. Environmental Chief Maurice Strong.


Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on TIME.com

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!