The Law: Profanity in Georgia

Under Georgia law, it is illegal to use "obscene and vulgar or profane language in the presence of a female or of a male under the age of 14." No mere remnant of the past, the law was enacted in 1968; now, by a 6-1 vote, the Georgia Supreme Court has upheld its constitutionality. The case at issue: an eleven-year-old girl went up to a car that had stopped in her neighborhood. "Have you ever been laid?" the driver asked. She immediately walked across the street, memorized the license, went home and wrote the number down. Traced, identified by the girl...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now

Subscribe
Subscribe

Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on TIME.com

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!