Scoreboard: Who Won Dec. 6, 1963

— Roger Staubach, 21: the Heisman Trophy, awarded annually to the best college football player in the U.S. Everybody's All-America, Navy Quarterback Staubach made a runaway of the voting by sportswriters and broadcasters (polling 517 first-place votes to 65 for Runner-up Billy Lothridge of Georgia Tech), became the fourth junior ever to win the trophy and the first since Ohio State's Vic Janowicz in 1950.

> Jack Nicklaus, 23: a tie for fifth place in the Cajun Classic at Lafayette, La., worth $1,050—enough to push his official 1963 winnings to $100,040 and make him the second golfer ever to win...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!