Malaysia: The Quads

Quintuplets were expected, quadruplets appeared. That was the story in London last week when government and colonial leaders signed the birth certificate of a new British Commonwealth nation. It was the Federation of Malaysia, which was to be composed of independent Malaya, self-governing Singapore, and the three British territories of Sarawak, Brunei and North Borneo. But at the last moment, the oil-sodden sultanate of Brunei pulled out of the agreement in a fit of pique over the final terms of federation.

Macy's v. Gimbels. Brunei's sudden defection came after weeks of...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!