National Affairs: HAWAII: The Land & the People

Hawaii: subtropical archipelago of 20 volcano-born islands (only eight are inhabited), 2,400 miles west of San Francisco, 6,435 sq. mi. in area (size of Rhode Island and Connecticut together), spread over 1,600 mi. of the mid-Pacific. Included in the 50th state: inhabited islands of Hawaii, Oahu, Kahoolawe, Lanai, Maui, Molokai, Kauai, Niihau. Mean temp. 74°, annual precipitation ranging from a low of 14 in. on the moonlike volcanic coast of the "Big Island" of Hawaii to the U.S.'s highest of 471 in. on the lush island of Kauai. Agricultural economy ($302 million a...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!