Music: New Records, Mar. 9, 1953

In contemporary American composition, as in the classical repertory, there is a standard style. Among its characteristics are a cool, outdoorsy kind of counterpoint that is dissonant but not harsh, an energetic rhythm that is neither brawny nor strikingly brainy, and a kind of melody that is homely, and sometimes even folksy. In short, it is middle-of-the-way modernity—and it predominates in the first release of Columbia's new Modern American Music Series (6 LPs).

Two works are standouts: pioneering Modernist Charles Ives's Piano Sonata No. 1 (1902-09) and Aaron Copland's Sextet for String Quartet,...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!