Foreign News: Seventh to Quit

Up to July last year the League of Nations had received six unwelcome letters from six Latin American countries—Costa Rica, Brazil, Paraguay, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Honduras—announcing their withdrawal from the League. Since withdrawal is provided for in the League's Covenant it must be accepted, and automatically takes effect two years after notice has been given.

Last week the League announced that it had received the seventh such letter. It was from Miguel Angel Araujo, Foreign Minister of El Salvador, who wrote that "reasons of an economic nature compel my Government to withdraw."

El Salvador,...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!