Business & Finance: Northwestern Bank Failures

The failure of many northwestern banks in recent years has proved a political as well as a business factor of great interest and importance. In the last 3½ years, 512 banks have been closed in four northwestern states, as follows: Minnesota, 73; Montana, 122; North Dakota, 194; South Dakota, 123. Of these, 59 were national and 453 state banks. These failures occurred out of a total of 2,675 state and 691 national banks, or 3,366 altogether.

Throughout these states there were more banks per capita in 1921 than anywhere else in the country—a result...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!