Music: Classical Records: Nov. 2, 1962

Edmund Haines: Concertino for Seven Solo Instruments and Orchestra (Oklahoma City Symphony Orchestra, Guy Fraser Harrison conducting; Composers Recordings, Inc.). A high-spirited, multi-gaited piece that has its moments of surrealist shiftiness and of sheer pyrotechnics. One movement—the third—stands out with a lovely, brooding string solo. Expertly rendered by the first-desk men of the orchestra.

Beethoven: Fidelio (Mezzo-Soprano Christa Ludwig, Tenor Jon Vickers, Basses Gottlob Frick and Walter Berry; the Philharmonia Orchestra and Chorus, conducted by Otto Klemperer; Angel, 3 LPs). An easy-breathing, expansive performance notable for the clarity of its orchestral effects....

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!