Radio: Kudos

The winners of the 15th Annual Peabody Awards, announced this week in Manhattan:


Entertainment: NBC's George Gobel.

Education: CBS's Adventure.

Children's Show: ABC's Disneyland.

News: ABC's John Daly.

National Public Service: NBC's Industry on Parade.

Regional Public Service: station WJAR-TV, Providence, for coverage of Hurricane Carol.

Special Awards: CBS's Omnibus and The Search.


Entertainment: NBC's Conversation.

Education: CBS's Man's Right to Knowledge.

Contribution to International Understanding: NBC's Pauline Frederick at the U.N.

News: ABC's John Daly.

Music: Boris Goldovsky of ABC's Metropolitan Opera.

Local Public Service: station KGAK, Gallup, N.Mex., for The Navajo Hour.


Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!