NORWAY: Repeating, Not Retreating

Of the 15 nations in NATO, only Norway and Turkey have a border on the Soviet Union. Last week Norway's Premier Einar Gerhardsen, on a twelve-day good-will junket to Russia, signed a communique with Soviet Premier Bulganin promising not to "open bases for foreign forces on Norwegian territory as long as Norway is not attacked or threatened with attack." The communiqué had the sound of a retreat from Norway's fidelity to NATO, and Communist newspapers in Europe so played it. Actually, Gerhardsen was merely repeating a pledge made to the Soviet Union in 1949, just before Norway joined...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!