Music: New Records, may 17, 1954

Berg: Violin Concerto (Louis Krasner; Cleveland Orchestra conducted by Artur Rodzinsky; Columbia). One of the meatiest, most listenable concertos of the century, played by the man who introduced it in 1936. Written in the twelve-tone technique, it combines all the nervous subtleties of that idiom with the undeniable decadence of Berg's own style, but still appeals strongly to the ear. More complex (and less appealing) is the piece on the reverse side: another great modern

Violin Concerto, by Berg's teacher, Arnold Schonberg, which still has a reputation as the most difficult concerto of all....

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!