Music: New Records, Feb. 22, 1954

For the second year in a row, Columbia Records has dipped into the works of contemporary U.S. composers, filled six LPs with chamber music by a dozen of them. Columbia does not expect its Modern American Music Series to cause any stampedes at record counters, is issuing the series in a spirit of 1) adventure, and 2) duty to U.S. music. Nonetheless, a few of the scores in the new 1954 edition are first-class of their kind and well worth a hearing.

String Quartet No. 1, by the University of Southern California's Leon Kirchner,...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!