Sport: Who Won

¶ Stanford's Chuck Taylor (TIME, Nov. 26), the football Coach-of-the-Year title in the annual Scripps-Howard poll. Starting with a team built around a squad of unsung seniors, Freshman Coach Taylor inched his team along to a nine-game winning streak and a trip to the Rose Bowl.

¶ Light-heavyweight Contender Harry Matthews, undefeated in 66 straight bouts since 1943, a slugging ten-round decision, over Danny Nardico; in Cleveland.

¶ Pro football's Cleveland Browns, 28-0, over Pittsburgh's Steelers to clinch their second straight American Conference title; in Pittsburgh.


Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!