GREAT BRITAIN: His Majesty's Loyal Opposition

Britain's highest distinction short of a knighthood is the Order of Merit (O.M.). Only 24 living persons may hold it. A reward for exceptional services in the arts, literature & science, its holders include Poet T. S. Eliot, Painter Augustus John, Composer Vaughan Williams, and one honorary member—Dwight Eisenhower.

Lately, the O.M. has served a new purpose: to reward outgoing Prime Ministers who don't want a peerage which would raise them to the lofty but ineffectual House of Lords. Winston Churchill got his O.M. following his party's defeat at the polls in 1945. Last week, in recognition of eleven years...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!