ALABAMA: Drop that Mask

The State of Alabama last week set out to prove that the cross-burning, sheeted hoodlums of the Ku Klux Klan, though they might get the headlines, did not speak for Alabama. By an 84-to-4 vote, the state legislature made it a misdemeanor ($500 fine, or a year in jail) to appear in public wearing a mask. The bill, quickly signed and put into effect by Governor Jim Folsom, was the first anti-masking law enacted in the deep South since reconstruction days.

...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now

Subscribe
Subscribe

Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on TIME.com

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!