National Affairs: Makings of the 72nd (Cont.)

Regular Republican voters in North Dakota—once a breeding ground for political insurgency and the Non-Partisan League—went to the primary polls last week and renominated their three Congressmen: Olger B. Burtness (First District) Thomas Hall (Second District), James Herbert Sinclair (Third District).

Also renominated by the widest majority in the State's history was Republican Governor George F. Shafer.

The voting was a rout for the Non-Partisan League's Congressional candidates. In the third district Arthur Clarence Townley, the League's founder but lacking its endorsement, ran a poor third as a lone Wet.

Also defeated by...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!