AERONAUTICS: The Bennett Cup

The National Aeronautic Association announces from Washington that America will have three entries for the James Gordon Bennett Cup, to be competed for in Belgium on Sept. 23.

America has won the trophy twice. Three successive victories by any country entitles it to permanent possession of this cup. France is the only country which ever won the cup outright.


Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!