Science: Five Prizewinners

Standing before their colleagues at the National Science Foundation in Washington last week, five scientists received the annual Ernest Orlando Lawrence Memorial Awards given the AEC for contributions in developing atomic energy. The very name of the prize testified to its significance—for Physicist Lawrence, who died in 1958, was one of the great atomic adventurers. He built the first cyclotron, was one of the scientists who advised President Franklin Roosevelt on the first atomic bomb, organized the Radiation Laboratory at the University of California—still one of the country's prime sources of nuclear research. Winners of the $5,000 tax-free awards:

» Richard...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!