National Affairs: The House

Control of the House in the 82nd Congress stayed in the hands of the Democrats by a substantial majority, but one that would be reduced from the 259-169 division in the 81st Congress. Republicans stood to gain at least 23 seats, perhaps as many as 36.

Both parties will have their tough, experienced leaders back. Shiny-pated Speaker Sam Rayburn, 69, ran without opposition in his Texas district; Majority Leader John McCormack of Massachusetts and all of the important Democratic committee chairmen also won. The G.O.P. will again be guided by Minority Leader Joe Martin...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!