Music: New Classical Records

Krenek: Piano Sonata No. 4 (Bernhard Abramowitsch; Music Library). A vintage 1948 work by a composer who made a worldwide splash with his opera, Jonny Spielt Auf, written in a kind of Teutonic honky-tonk style a quarter century ago. The sonata, sometimes using the twelve-tone technique, is full of ultramodern patterns, but they are served up in comparatively palatable form: there are moments of humor, drama and bewitchingly strange sounds. Pianist Abramowitsch plays it with skill and enthusiasm.

Sylvia Marlowe (New Editions). A sampling of four living composers played by Harpsichordist Marlowe and...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!