GOVERNORS: Another Landslide

The Republican victory that swept the presidency and squeaked through the Congress took on landslide dimensions again among the state governors. Of the 30 gubernatorial seats up for election this fall, the two parties had 15 each. When the returns were all in last week, the Republicans held 20, the Democrats only ten. Among the 48 states in 1953 there will be 30 Republican, 18 Democratic governors.

The Republican winners:

Arizona: Howard Pyle*

Colorado: Dan Thornton*

Delaware: J. Caleb Boggs

Illinois: William G. Stratton

Indiana: George N. Craig

Iowa: William S. Beardsley*

Kansas: Edward F. Arn*

Maine: Burton M. Cross

Massachusetts: Christian A. Herter...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!