Art: Architectural Oscars

The top prizes given to U.S. architects for buildings of the year are the annual awards of the 11,000-member American Institute of Architects. To pick this year's winners, a jury of five topflight architects, including Eero Saarinen (TIME, March 19) and Pietro Belluschi, dean of M.I.T.'s School of Architecture, thumbed through more than 200 sets of plans and photographs before they made their choice. The runaway winners, announced in Washington this week: the San Francisco firm of Wurster, Bernardi & Emmons, which not only got a First Honor Award for its $258,000 "Thinkers' Shangri-La"— the Ford Foundation's hilltop Center for Advanced...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!