Radio: The Laurels

Notable winners of the 16th annual Peabody Awards, announced this week in Manhattan:

TV News: CBS's Douglas Edwards.

TV Entertainment: NBC's Perry Como and CBS's Jackie Gleason.

TV Drama: NBC's Producers' Showcase, with "a special bow to Peter Pan."

TV Children's Show: CBS's Lassie.

TV Education: Dr. Frank Baxter on station KNXT (Los Angeles), with a citation to CBS's Omnibus for the series on the Adams family.

Radio-Television Music: ABC's Voice of Firestone.

Radio-Television Public Service: NBC Board Chairman Sylvester Weaver Jr., for "broadening the horizons of television . . . and for showing a respect for the intelligence of the public."

Radio-Television Promotion of International Understanding: ABC's...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!