Music: New Records, Aug. 22, 1955

The third release of Columbia's A-for-effort Modern American Music Series contains music by ten composers on five LPs. None of the selections can qualify as a masterpiece, but some of them have a solid enough appeal. String Quartet No. 1, by Russian-born Alexei Haieff (played by the Juilliard Quartet), is a gentle composition that makes the most of the ensemble's wispy, wistful potentialities. The piece is old-fashioned without embarrassment, sometimes uses modern techniques without effort. Sonata for Piano and Percussion is by one of the world's few women composers, Australia-born Peggy Glanville-Hicks, 42. A vigorous piece, it craftily blends the disparate...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!