THE NATIONS: The Dark Valley

To assure the disarmament and demilitarization of Germany; to further the recovery of the countries of Europe, including a democratic Germany; and to promote that intimate association of their economic life which . . . alone can assure a peaceful and prosperous Europe.

This was the high purpose of a six-nation agreement announced last week for the control of Germany's Ruhr—the dark, smoke-grimed valley that cradles the industrial heart of Europe. The text of the agreement was simultaneously given out in the capitals of the U.S. and the five Western Union nations—Britain, France, Belgium, The Netherlands, Luxembourg.

The agreement...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!